Butterfly Class

About:

  • Children in the Butterfly class must be at least 4 years old by September 1 of the current school year AND potty trained.
  • The maximum group-size for this classroom is 12 children per day.
  • One teacher and one teacher aide work in this classroom.
  • Children in this four-day class (M-Th) can be registered for the morning (9:00-11:30 am) or the afternoon (12:30-3:00pm) session, September through May.


Meet the Butterfly Staff:

Miss Jill, Morning Teacher
Jill Felter

I work as one of the aides in the two-year-old room. My husband and I live near Grantville with our three kids. I was a Child Development major at Michigan State University and taught Pre-K and Kindergarten before leaving to be home with my own children. I spend most of my free time at my kids’ games and activities or visiting with our out-of-state family. I am thrilled to be back working to support the growth and development of young children.

 
 

Miss Kim, Afternoon Teacher
Kim Phillippy

 

During college, I majored in elementary education with a minor in psychology, and I later received my master's degree in health education. I taught elementary school for 12 years in the public school system before my children were born, then resigned to be a full-time mom. My kids are now teenagers and I am so excited to return to teaching again! I loved the preschool years with my own children and I look forward to sharing this special time in childhood with my students.

My husband and I live in Hershey with our two children. We love to watch our son and daughter in their various activities. We also have two cats that are part of the family. I enjoy reading, writing, walking, swimming, and doing crafts. I can't wait to share so many things with my afternoon Butterflies and I hope to foster a lifelong love of learning in each of them.

 

Miss Jamie, Teacher Aide
Jamie Sherwood

I grew up in New Cumberland and graduated from Cedar Cliff High School. After I attended IUP for Business Management in 1997, I moved back to New Cumberland and split my time between there and my favorite place in the world, the beach. I worked five summers in Ocean City, Maryland, then moved to Hershey where I started a daycare out of my home. I was also a nanny for five boys for five years. It was at this time I had my son Jacob, now 15. 

I live in Palmyra with my husband, my son, and our chocolate lab, Howard. Between Howard and Jacob, they constantly keep us on the go. In the summers when school is out, I work at the Hotel Hershey. My favorite activities are spending time at the beach, walking my dog, spending time with family, and going to my sons’ sporting events, Phillies games or any baseball games. I have been working at Derry Discovery Days since 2010. I love kids, I love working with kids, spending time with them, and watching them grow. 

 

Back to Derry Discovery Days